GCC Countries: What you need to know

on 28 March 2021

The Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) is a political and economic union of Arab states bordering the Gulf. It was established in 1981 and its 6 members are the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Oman, Kuwait and Bahrain.
The GCC’s prime geographical location is at the crossroads of the major Western and Eastern economies. The established and efficient air and sea connections and developed infrastructure make it a great place to establish and expand business.

  Bahrain Kuwait Oman Qatar Saudi Arabi (KSA) UAE
Capital Manama Kuwait City Muscat Doha Riyadh Abu Dhabi
Land Area 741 sq km  17,818 km²  309,501 km²  11,571 km² 2.15m sq km 83,600 sq km
Currency Bahraini Riyal Kuwaiti Dinar Omani Riyal Qatari Riyal Saudi Riyal Dirham AED
Citizens Bahrainis Kuwaitis Omanis Qataris Saudis or Saudi Arabians Emiratis
Percentage expats 55% (UN, 2013) 70% (PACI, 2014) 30% (UN, 2013) 85% (2014, estimate) 30% (UN, 2013) 80-90%5
Airlines Gulf Air Kuwait Airways Oman Air Qatar Airways Saudia Etihad Airways

 You can apply for your e-Visa online

Use the links below to apply for e-Visa online to any of the six GCC countries. 

  • Total GCC population is about 42-45 million as of July 2014 (using an estimate of about 7-8m for the UAE). About 60% of the total is for Saudi Arabia.

GCC Countries' Map

Read more
Last Updated: 16 April 2022
Back to top